Day 3

Monday, October 22, 2013
323 Miles
Charging stops:

  1. Tejon Ranch, CA – Tesla Supercharger
  2. Indian Wells Resort Hotel, Indian Wells, CA – Tesla HPWC

Day 3

As I began Day 3 of my journey, I began to feel a bit less stressed about charging the car and being able to do all of the miles by myself. I ate breakfast while I finished charging up at the Supercharger, then headed for Tejon Ranch.

Harris Ranch Supercharger

Harris Ranch Supercharger

I had a pleasant drive to Tejon Ranch, with sunny warm weather. It actually got up into the mid 90s, but I was cool and comfortable even with the AC set to “ECO”.

I stopped for lunch at the Tejon Ranch Supercharger, which has a solar panel canopy. I met another Model S owner there who uses it to commute to work and back home. After having lunch, the car was still charging (I was charging to 100%) and some police officers stopped by to ask me about the car. They thought it was a really interesting car and joked how hard it must be for Tesla to have an electric charging station in an area lined with oil wells. 😉

Tejon Ranch Supercharger

Tejon Ranch Supercharger

My original plan was to drive to the Supercharger in Barstow, CA, but as I thought about it I realized I would have no problem just going straight to the Indian Wells Resort Hotel near Palm Springs where I was going to spend the night. Even with LA rush hour traffic, I should make it there at a decent hour. The traffic wasn’t too bad and only slowed me down by an hour, where as going all the way to Barstow would have been a good bit longer, both in terms of miles and time. I had a little trouble finding the hotel as the street numbering system in Palm Springs/Indian Wells wasn’t clearly interpreted by the Tesla GPS system. I stopped for directions at a nearby hotel and quickly found the hotel. It was once owned by Lucile Ball and Dezi Arnez and definitely has a ’60s Las Vegas lounge feel to it. There was a Vegas style lounge act on stage in the main lobby, with lots of folks enjoying it and having great time. Very nice place though, and super nice staff. The hotel owner and the president of the parent company both have their own Tesla Model S, so they installed a Tesla High Powered Wall Charger (HPWC) right at the front door of the hotel. The owners always parked and plugged in their own cars, even though there is a valet service, so the staff was very curious to see how to drive and charge the car. As I said, they were super nice and were happy to give me directions to a decent local Mexican restaurant. Upon returning, one of the hotel patrons had stepped outside to make a phone call and asked me about the car. He had just bought a Mercedes Benz, and even though he loved it, he was fascinated by the Model S. I gave him a quick test ride around the block. We pulled out onto the side street next to the hotel, and he said “Just punch it so I can see how it accelerates.” I think it was so powerful it actually scared him. He started saying “Whoa, whoa, whoa! Okay, that’s enough for me. Let’s go back.” After our spin around the block, I dropped him off at the front door, plugged in and went up to my room to hit the sack.

Charging from the Tesla HPWC at Indian Wells Resort Hotel

Charging from the Tesla HPWC at Indian Wells Resort Hotel

Standard

Leave a Reply

