Day 4

Tuesday, October 23, 2013
460 Miles
Charging stops:

  1. Tesla Store, Fashion Square Mall, Scottsdale, AZ
  2. Magic Circle RV Park, Willcox, AZ

Day 4

I got up at the crack of dawn to complete this leg of my journey in one day. Actually, I got up at 5:30 AM, long before the crack of dawn. The reason was that I would no longer be able to use Tesla Superchargers until I reached San Antonio, TX, so I would have to recharge at the Tesla Store in Scottsdale, AZ. They have a single HPWC, which they were gracious enough to let me use. Even though it would give me close to 50 miles of range for each hour of charging, I would need to charge from near empty to full. That would take me around 5 hours. Add in driving time, rest stops, and meals and it adds up to a long day. Plus the owners of the RV park normally close their office at 6:00 PM, so I was trying to make it there before then. I left Palm Springs around 6:00 AM and had an uneventful drive to Scottsdale, with the added bonus of a beautiful desert sunrise.

Dessert sunrise

I began to feel ill though as I drove and pulled over for a few minutes of rest. I feared I was coming down with a cold (which I was). The drive from Palm Springs to Scottsdale was 263 Miles, which would really test the accuracy of the rated range. I kept my speed between 60 and 65 mph with the cruise control on. I had located a few public charging stations in the Phoenix area, just in case I needed a quick top off to make it to Scottsdale. As I got closer it appeared that I would actually make it on one charge. As I pulled into the mall and found the charging spot, I was able to park and plug in with a whopping 2 miles of range left. 😉

Charging at the Tesla Store in Scottsdale, AZ

Charging at the Tesla Store in Scottsdale, AZ

Cutting it a bit close.

Cutting it a bit close.

Since I was feeling under the weather, and didn’t get a full nights rest, I decided to fold down the rear seats to stretch out and take a nap after eating lunch. It was comfortable enough even without a camping pad to get a bit of shuteye.

Having fully charged, I headed out for the RV park in Willcox, AZ. I realized that I was going to arrive around 8:00 PM, so I called them to make sure that wouldn’t be too late. They said it wouldn’t be a problem since they would be up watching the World Series anyway. I found the RV park with no problem and they were incredibly gracious and very interested in the car. We must have talked for at least half an hour before I plugged in and walked over to the Super 8 hotel two blocks away.

I checked in to the hotel and started to settle in when I checked the Tesla Connect app on my Windows 8 Phone. I’m glad I did as it said the car wasn’t charging. So, I headed back to the car and sure enough the breaker had tripped. So I reset the breaker and went back to the hotel. I took a shower and checked the status one more time before turning in for the night. Guess what? It had stopped charging again. So, I got dressed and headed back over to the car wondering what was going on. As I walked over, I had an idea that it might be that the breaker just can’t handle 40 amps continuously. So I bumped down the amperage to 30, which would still charge the car to 100% before I would be heading out in the morning. With the breaker reset and the amps adjusted, I headed back to the hotel again. I stayed up for another half hour checking email and planning out the next day’s journey and when I checked the status it was still charging. I got up during the night to use the bathroom and checked the status one more time to see that it was still charging. Problem solved!

Magic Circle RV Park

Magic Circle RV Park

Standard

Leave a Reply

