Day 6

Friday, October 25, 2013
234 mi
Charging stops:

  1. City Hall, Balmorhea, TX

Day 6

After a good night’s sleep I was feeling a bit better, and with the car fully charged, I headed on into Texas. It was another beautiful, warm, sunny day for a drive. So far the weather has been exceptional for a road trip!

Texas New Mexico state line

Texas New Mexico state line

Looking across the Rio Grande to mountains in Mexico.

Looking across the Rio Grande to mountains in Mexico.

80 MPH!!! I stuck to 65 just to make sure I made it to the charging spot.

80 MPH!!! I stuck to 65 just to make sure I made it to the charging spot.

Beautiful desert landscape

Beautiful desert landscape

After a beautiful drive, I pulled into Balmorhea, TX and checked into my hotel, El Oso Flojo Lodge. This is a beautiful little town of (according to the sign at the city border) about 630 people. The manager at El Oso Flojo pointed me to a very nice family run Mexican restaurant right next door. Being Friday night in Texas, it was of course football night and the local high school team, the Bears, were playing one of the best teams in the state in 6-man football. I had never heard of such a thing, so after plugging in the car at a small RV park behind the town’s city hall and tourist information center and a chicken quesadilla at La Cueva de Oso (The Bear Den) next to the hotel, I headed over to the high school three blocks away to watch my first 6-man football game. Unfortunately, the hometown Bears were no match for the visiting Grandfalls-Royalty Cowboys. Even though the Bears looked to start to turn things around with a great kickoff return with only a few seconds left in the half, time ran out and the mercy rule came into effect ending the game. In this league, if a team is up by 45 points or more at half time, the game is called, which is what happened this night. 😦 Better luck next time Bears.

El Oso Flojo Lodge courtyard fountain

El Oso Flojo Lodge courtyard fountain

I had set the car to delay charging until 9 PM, which I had never done before. Being a bit nervous about trusting this to really work, I walked over to the city hall to make sure it would actually start. I got to the car just before 9 PM and after a few minutes, I heard a click and saw the green lights on my charging cable start to chase and the light around the charging port pulse green. Sure enough, it worked perfectly. Off to bed and another good night’s rest.

Charging behind Balmorhea City Hall

Charging behind Balmorhea City Hall

Standard

10 thoughts on “Day 6

  1. Jerry Mixon says:

    Ken, since you are not working and footloose, are you interested in house-sitting six weeks in Seattle for my wife and I while we make OUR cross country Tesla trip in May?

    • Jerry, sorry for such a late reply. Your offer sounds intriguing! I’d love to talk with you more about it, though I’m loathe to put my contact info on this site. Perhaps there’s a place we could meet up for coffee and talk more about it? Let me know.

      • Jerry Mixon says:

        Ken,
        Thanks for the reply but now I’m sorry to say we have a hitch in our plan that may result in a delay. Due to a knee surgery that did not come out as expected, my wife may need to have it done again. Nevertheless, we do plan to make that trip as soon as we can. And as well as the house-sitting idea I would like to talk to you about “the crossing” and hope to learn a few things before we set off. I live in northeast Seattle about a mile north of UW; if you choose a place to meet, I’ll buy your coffee. Hope to see you.

  2. Jerry,
    Sorry to take so long to respond. I was sick with an evil stomach virus for two weeks and then went on another vacation (annual family golf trip). I’m back now and would love to get together to chat. Looking around in your area, I would love to check out the Crepe Cafe on 65th near Ravenna. If that works for you, let’s set a day and time. I’m pretty open these days, so let me know what works for you. Most of my time is spent looking/applying for jobs. 😉

    • Ken,
      Sorry to hear you were sick, and glad to hear you had a vacation with family. Yes, Crepe Cafe is in our neighborhood and we would like to see the inside of that place too. We’ve only lived in this area 15 or 20 years and have not yet been there, so this is our chance to know our neighborhood better.
      My wife, Dawn, would like to join us for the conversation about traveling and she is off work every other Friday; this month the 7th and 21st. Does either date work for you?
      Jerry

  3. Jerry,
    Sorry to do this, but could we move our time to 2:30? I have an appointment from 1-2 PM that I mistakenly thought was from 12-1. Let me know if 2:30 works.
    Thanks,
    Ken

  4. Brian C says:

    Ken,

    Great writeup.. I’m in Texas and may rely on this blog heavily in the future to make a road trip. Just out of curiosity, why did you need to set if for delayed charging at this location?

    Thanks,
    Brian

Leave a Reply

